Public Safety Committee

Public Safety Committee


E. Joseph Wehrfritz

  • Title: Chairman/Police Chief

Barbara Bernard

Ryan Crawford

Dan Neaverth Jr.

Dwight Mateer

Frank Wierzbowski

Jon McNatty, Village Liaison

Elizabeth A. Landwehr

Description & Duties

Public Safety Committee meets the 3rd Tuesday of the month at 6:00pm

This seven member adhoc volunteer committee is appointed annually by the Town Board to review issues of public safety. Requests regarding the placement of stop signs, no parking restrictions, speed limits, traffic signals, intersections, traffic issues and other areas where public safety is a concern are referred to the Public Safety Committee for review and recommendations to the Town Board. Members of the committee usually include volunteer firemen, residents and those with vehicle and traffic law knowledge. The Public Safety Committee works closely with law enforcement, fire departments, and other relevant agencies. The Orchard Park Police Chief acts in an advisory role and as liaison to the Town.